Visiting Nurse Association
Iowa City, Iowa

Home Page

Agency Information

Annual Report

Careers & Volunteers

Contributions & Memorials



Flu Clinic Information

Foot Clinics Schedule

Health Promotion Clinics Schedule

Lifeline Personal Medical Alert Service

Sure Steps Fall Prevention

New Building Campaign


Sycamore Health Center


The Visiting Nurse Association (VNA) is a non-profit organization established in 1949 for the purpose of providing health services to individuals in their home and in community settings. The VNA provides medical services to individuals ranging in age from infants to elders with acute and chronic illness or disability.


VNA is certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), since 1965, and fully accredited, since 1996, by the Accreditation Commission for Health Care, Inc. Our ACHC accreditation assures you that the quality of care provided by VNA is nationally recognized for its excellence. VNA is a United Way partner.


You can feel safe in our care. State and local background checks are performed on all of our employees. Your trust is important to us.


The Mission of VNA is to improve the quality of life to persons in its service area by assisting individuals and families to the highest level of health and independent function appropriate to the persons involved.


VNA works collaboratively with physicians, other health care providers and community agencies to enhance VNA client outcomes and services, and VNA regularly evaluates programs and services while continuously working to improve processes and outcomes.


VNA Notice of Privacy Practices


StaffingThe VNA has 48 staff including eighteen (18) nurses, seven (7) home care aides, five (5) homemakers, two (2) physical  

therapists, one (1) occupational therapist, and one (1) social worker.


VNA has a nurse on call 24 hours a day for patient concerns.

VNA Board of Directors

Steve C. Anderson- President, Jeffrey Jarrett- Vice President, Brad Langguth- Treasurer, Jean Van Rybroek- Secretary, 

Christine Ameling, Joe Campanelli, Ellen Cram, Michael Lensing, Nicole McGlynn, Pat Pezzella, Minyon Rittgers-Easton, Dale Wurster


Suellen Novotny- Executive Director, VNA